Board Review

As the leading executive search and board consulting company in Switzerland, we have helped to professionalize board activities in Switzerland over the past 15 years and have supported numerous searches for members of boards of directors or entire board committees. We were increasingly consulted for the assessment of board committees. As part of this process, we have developed a systematic approach to assess the performance and effectiveness of the work of the Board of Directors and, together with the Board, to develop target-oriented measures to optimise it.

Objective

Our Board Review is a structured, systematic process that offers the Board of Directors concrete starting points for rethinking the structural and procedural status quo. Our approach involves the Chairman of the Board of Directors, each individual member of the Board of Directors and the CEO in an intensive communication process in order to identify areas for action within the framework of an analysis. This builds on the extensive experience of the individual members as executives and board members on this and other boards. The discussion is enriched by the best practices experienced by schillingpartners from the extensive Board Review and Board Appointments experience (see references).

Typical expected results are:

  • Survey of the potential for optimizing the work of the entire board of directors
  • Optimization of work in committees such as the Audit Committee, Nomination and Compensation Committee, Strategy Committee
  • Definition of goal-oriented preparation and follow-up of meetings, acquisition of dossier competence of the individual Board members
  • Strengthening of the social dynamics and culture of discussion in the Board
  • Increase the efficiency of meetings and effectiveness of decisions
  • Improving the involvement and control of the CEO
  • Identification of key competencies of the Board of Directors in line with the corporate strategy

Procedure

Our approach is based on a structured dialogue with the Chairman of the Board, the members of the Board of Directors and, as a rule, the CEO and other key employees such as the CFO or the Secretary of the Board of Directors. During the course of the project, the dialogue is intensified, from the initial survey by questionnaire, through individual interviews with all board members and CEO, to the presentation and discussion of the findings in the full board. The result is a Board Review Report that summarizes the findings and describes the specific areas for action. This report is submitted and explained to the Chairman for further use.

CONTACT

Guido Schilling, Managing Partner and Publisher schillingreport
T direct +41 44 366 63 81,  guido.schilling@guidoschilling.ch

Board Review

Als führendes Executive-Search- und Board-Consulting-Unternehmen der Schweiz haben wir in den vergangenen 15 Jahren dazu beigetragen, die Verwaltungsratstätigkeit in der Schweiz zu professionalisieren und zahlreiche Suchen nach Mitgliedern von Verwaltungsräten oder ganzen Verwaltungsratsgremien begleitet. Zunehmend werden wir zur Beurteilung von Verwaltungsratsgremien beigezogen. Im Rahmen dessen haben wir eine Systematik entwickelt, um die Performance und Wirksamkeit der Verwaltungsratsarbeit zu erheben und gemeinsam mit dem Gremium zielführende Massnahmen zu erarbeiten, um diese zu optimieren.

Zielsetzung

Unser Board Review ist ein strukturierter, systematischer Prozess, welcher dem Verwaltungsrat konkrete Ansatzpunkte bietet, um den strukturellen und prozessualen Status quo zu überdenken. Unser Vorgehen bindet den Präsidenten des Verwaltungsrats, jedes einzelne Mitglied sowie den CEO in einen intensiven Kommunikationsprozess ein, um im Rahmen einer Analyse Handlungsfelder zu identifizieren. Dies baut auf die umfassende Erfahrung der einzelnen Mitglieder als Executives und Verwaltungsräte in diesem und anderen Gremien. Angereichert wird die Diskussion über erlebte Best Practices von schillingpartners aus der umfangreichen Board-Review- und Board-Appointments-Erfahrung (siehe Referenzen).

Typische zu erwartende Ergebnisse sind:

  • Erhebung des Potenzials für die Optimierung der Arbeit im gesamten Verwaltungsrat
  • Optimierung der Arbeit in den Ausschüssen wie Audit Committee, Nomination and Compensation Committee, Strategy Committee
  • Definition der zielgerichteten Vorbereitung und Nachbereitung von Sitzungen, Erlangung von Dossierkompetenz der einzelnen Verwaltungsratsmitglieder
  • Stärkung der sozialen Dynamik und Gesprächskultur im Verwaltungsrat
  • Steigerung der Effizienz von Sitzungen und Effektivität von Entscheidungen
  • Verbesserung der Einbindung und Steuerung des CEO
  • Ermittlung von Schlüsselkompetenzen des Verwaltungsrats in Einklang mit der Unternehmensstrategie

Vorgehen

Unsere Vorgehensweise setzt auf einen strukturierten Dialog mit dem Präsidenten des Verwaltungsrats, den Mitgliedern des Verwaltungsrats und i.d.R. auch dem CEO und weiteren Schlüsselmitarbeitenden wie dem CFO oder dem Sekretär des Verwaltungsrats. Im Verlauf des Projekts wird der Dialog intensiviert, von der ersten Erhebung per Fragebogen über individuelle Interviews mit allen Verwaltungsratsmitgliedern und CEO bis zur Präsentation und Diskussion der Erkenntnisse im Gesamtgremium. Das Ergebnis ist ein Board Review Report, der die Ergebnisse zusammenfasst und die konkreten Handlungsfelder beschreibt. Dieser Bericht wird dem Präsidenten zur weiteren Verwendung übergeben und erläutert.

Kontakt

Guido Schilling, Managing Partner und Herausgeber schillingreport
T direct +41 44 366 63 81,  guido.schilling@guidoschilling.ch